Kung Fu Yoga


Monday night I decided to go back to hot yoga.  I took off about 3 months or so. Between the house and running, it was just too much and I needed a break.  I was getting tired of the classes and wanted to change it up.  Now that the race is over, I really started missing Down Dog Yoga, so I went back for hot yoga vinyasa session.

The class offered a combination of strength, sweat, spirituality…and Kung Fu.  The instructor, Jennifer, added a bit of humor into the workout, having us yell out karate sounds to get though the class and it really loosened up everyone.  I was cracking myself up blurting out “wooooosa” and “hiyah!”… just what I needed to brighten up a stressful day.

I especially needed anything I could to get my mind off of every move since I was pretty rusty.  Anyone who has taken hot yoga before knows that 90 minutes in a 100 degree room will also cause you to produce a heck of a lot of sweat. And where there is sweat, there is intense detoxification happening.  Releasing all those toxins in one class certainly brought up mixed feelings  – but all in all, it was a great class. Even though I am super sore, I’m really happy to be back in the studio, practicing again.

Leave a Reply

