Home Run 10k


Last weekend I ran my first 10K.  I have always wanted to participate in a race and check it off my bucket list.  So about 5 months ago, I signed up for the Home Run 10K.  At first my training was gong really well.  I would run 3-4 days a week, about 3-5 miles and was feeling good.  But then, we bought a house and everything kinda went out the window..I basically stopped.  All of a sudden I realized I was about a month away from the race and really had to get my training going.  So I started up again doing 3.5 mile runs 2-3 times per week and then went to the Capital Crescent Trail and ran 6-7 miles on the weekends.  I also bought a sweet running outfit from my favorite store Lululemon which pumped me up.

Finally.. it was race day.  I woke up at the crack of dawn and headed over to the Home Run Race.  It was around the corner (one of the reasons I picked this course) and it was a smaller race, compared to many of the others in the DC area.  I was totally nervous and excited – here is a picture of me right before it started.

The course was a lot harder than I expected.  It was  just about all hills, and I had been training on pretty flat trails during my long weekend runs.  I think my anxiety also got the best of me and I cramped up about a mile in.  Eventually it went away though and I held a steady pace, not once stopping to walk or take a break.
I finished in the bottom half of the group in an hour and 4 minutes.  I felt good about my time but next time, I think I will improve.  I couldn’t get over how many fast runners there were… all sporting their half and full marathon shirts in the past.  It was totally inspiring, especially to see men and women in their 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s running the 5 and 10Ks.  Here’s a picture Bryan took of me right after I finished.  I was relieved it was over, but got such a rush out of the whole experience.  I totally want to run another 10K, but we will see when it happens… I’m a wuss in the cold, so it depends how this fall and winter are weather wise.

Leave a Reply

